Bob Goalby signing an incorrect scorecard at the 1968 Masters. Dustin Johnson mistakenly grounding his club in a bunker at the 2010 PGA Championship. Tiger Woods’ bad drop at the 2013 Masters. The list of golf’s all-time rules blunders is well-known to golf fans—and it almost got longer on Thursday at Oakmont.

If you weren’t paying close attention, you probably missed what exactly happened to Bryson DeChambeau on the fourth hole at Oakmont during his opening round. Luckily for the two-time U.S. Open champ, a nearby rules official didn’t.

MORE: Shane Lowry tosses microphone in anger at U.S. Open, is not having fun at Oakmont

After driving it in a fairway bunker down the right side of the par 5, DeChambeau hacked one out back to the fairway. But after his golf ball came to rest in a crosswalk, he decided to take a drop. The only problem? DeChambeau didn’t drop it.

Instead, he placed his ball at the nearest point of relief. But after a rules official alerted him to his mistake, DeChambeau appears to say, “Oh, gosh,” then quickly picks up his ball and makes a proper drop. Have a look (and listen) thanks to six-time European Tour winner Tony Johnstone:

Disaster averted. Had DeChambeau played his third shot after placing the ball instead of dropping, it would have been a two-shot penalty. Even though he would have been hitting from essentially the same spot. So his ensuing par would have been a double bogey and his disappointing first-round 73 would have turned into a 75.

Considering this happened so early in the tournament and with DeChambeau not anywhere in the lead, it wouldn’t have been as bad of a blunder as those previously mentioned ones. But it would be hard to earn a more boneheaded penalty.

Of course, the Golf Twitter sleuths were all over this one. And some still contend that DeChambeau should have gotten a penalty for not marking his ball or not marking where he was taking his drop or not taking full relief, but again, a rules official was right there. It also sounded like DeChambeau was then considering playing from the crosswalk, but because his caddie had already picked up his ball, he was told he had to take relief. Just a bizarre situation.

Anyway, for more on the rules of when and how to take a drop, check out our guide. Even Bryson might need a refresher before Friday’s second round.

Follow Golf Digest Middle East on social media

Instagram

X

Facebook

YouTube

Main Image: Eurasia Sport Images