The Gulf Club

Thabet fires five-under PB at Yas Links to win UAE Presidents Cup in record fashion

By Kent Gray
Saif Thabet’s timing can’t be faulted. Conjuring up a personal best round of 67 at Yas Links, the Emirati has waltzed away with the 6th UAE Presidents Cup in record fashion.

Thabet’s five-under, second-round loop of the Abu Dhabi links followed a wind-swept opening 73 and saw him capture the prestigious crown for the second time with a record four-under par aggregate of 140.

He beat Ahmed Skaik by eight shots after one bad back nine hole in the second round cost Skaik who signed for scores of 73-75. Hassan Al Musharrekh rounded out the podium after rounds of 73-80 for a 157 total.

“To win this event twice under the patronage of His Highness Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan is a big honour,” said Thabet. “Having my name carved on the trophy and to go down in UAE golf history for firing the lowest score at this event means a lot to me. My hard work is paying off and by shooting my lowest round of my career is proof of that. I knew I was mentally and physically prepared. I think the turning point was when I got three birdies in a row during my second round on 11, 12, and 13.

Thabet is presented with the Presidents Cup by HH Shaikh Nahyan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan from the Minister of Culture, Youth, and Social Development.

“Moving forward I am going to get back to the driving range and gym and continue to work on my game. I will better my game through the EGF Order of Merit in prep for national team events. I also have my eye on making a spot on the amateur Dubai Trophy Team. I look forward to continue to represent my country locally and internationally.”

Abdulla Al Musharrekh won the net title with a 144 aggregate at the HSBC sponsored event which attracted a record field of 82, plus 18 players in the new Par 3 Championship.

Reema Al Heloo clinched back-to-back ladies titles with a 167 gross score for 23-over-par. Eida Al Muhairbi’s 146, two-over par, got the job done in the ladies net category.

Obaid Al Heloo shot a championship total of 177 to claim his first ever UAE Presidents Cup victory ahead of runner-up Rashid Al Emadi in the Junior division with Khaled Al Mutawa taking the net prize with a 178 total.

Yas Links’ challenging Academy Course hosted the Par 3 championship contested by 18 members of the EGF Foundation Squad aged between 8 and 15. Rashid Al Jassmy won ahead of his brother Sultan Al Jassmy with Saad Al Zarouni third on countback.

All the UAE Presidents Cup winners.




Kent Gray

Editor of Golf Digest Middle East. Has written about golf since 1989 and owned a suspect short game even longer.

Facebook Comments

Check Also

LET event, Gary Player Invitational and Desert Swing opener to dovetail as Abu Dhabi realigns golf portfolio

Abu Dhabi’s three major golf tournaments have been bundled together in a win-win fortnight for golf fans, charity fundraising and the emirate’s wider sports calendar.