Scottie Scheffler. Kevin C Cox

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.

This week’s WGC-Dell Match Play Championship is being held for the last time at Austin Country Club, and this would appear to be the last we’ll see of the matchplay format for an individual PGA Tour event for the foreseeable future. (It’s also quite likely the last event played under the World Golf Championships banner after a 24-year run.) At least we’re going out with a strong field featuring eight of the top 10 players in the world, led by recent Players victor Scottie Scheffler looking to defend yet another championship.

RELATED: Breaking down the WGC-Dell Match Play groups

A year ago, Scheffler won in Austin, defeating Kevin Kisner in the final, for what was his third title in a six-week span. The victory propelled him to World No. 1 for the first time and was a prelude to his Masters win two weeks later. Along with Scheffler, we’ll see Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Patrick Cantlay, Max Homa, Xander Schauffele, Will Zalatoris, Viktor Hovland, Collin Morikawa and Tony Finau in this March Madness-esque event.

The 64-player field will be split into 16 four-man groups for a three days of round-robin primed for chaos and upsets. The winners from each pool advance to the weekend, with the Sweet 16 and quarter-finals scheduled for Saturday and the semi-finals and final on Sunday en route to crowning a champ.

The winner will receive 550 FedEx Cup points and a $3.5 million share of the $20 million purse.

Tee times
10.20am (6.20pm UAE)  Matt Fitzpatrick v JJ Spaun
10.31am  Sahith Theegala v Min Woo Lee
10.42am  Xander Schauffele v Cam Davis
10.53am  Tom Hoge v Aaron Wise
11.04am  Tyrrell Hatton v Ben Griffin
11.15am  Russell Henley v Lucas Herbert
11.26am  Rory McIlroy v Scott Stallings
11.37am  Keegan Bradley v Denny McCarthy
11.48am  Tony Finau v Christiaan Bezuidenhout
11.59am  Kurt Kitayama v Adrian Meronk
12.10pm  Will Zalatoris v Andrew Putnam
12.21pm  Ryan Fox v Harris English
12.32pm  Cameron Young v Davis Thompson
12.43pm  Sepp Straka v Corey Conners
12.54pm  Jon Rahm v Rickie Fowler
1.05pm  Billy Horschel v Keith Mitchell
1.16pm  Jordan Spieth v Mackenzie Hughes
1.27pm  Shane Lowry v Taylor Montgomery
1.38pm  Max Homa v Justin Suh
1.49pm  Hideki Matsuyama v Kevin Kisner
2pm  Sam Burns v Adam Hadwin
2.11pm  Seamus Power v Adam Scott
2.22pm  Patrick Cantlay v Nick Taylor
2.33pm  Brian Harman v K.H. Lee
2.44pm  Collin Morikawa v Victor Perez
2.55pm  Jason Day v Adam Svensson
3.06pm  Viktor Hovland v Matt Kuchar
3.17pm  Chris Kirk v Si Woo Kim
3.28pm  Sungjae Im v Maverick McNealy
3.39pm  Tommy Fleetwood v J.T. Poston
3.50pm  Scottie Scheffler v Davis Riley
4.01pm  Tom Kim v Alex Noren