Phil Mickelson calls a two-stroke penalty on himself for improving line of play

Photo by Michael Owens/Getty Images

By Joel Beall
Phil Mickelson’s brush with the rule book got him in hot water at Shinnecock Hills. Unlike his actions at the U.S. Open, however, Mickelson’s latest snafu was self-enforced.

On Sunday at the Greenbrier, Mickelson called a two-stroke penalty on himself for violating Rule 13-2, for improving his line of play. The 48-year-old tapped down fescue in front of the seventh hole tee box, which is not allowed.

Mickelson, who started nine shots back of the leaders at five under for the tournament, finished with a double-bogey on the hole. Mickelson turned in a four-over 74, dropping him 27 spots for a T-65 finish.

“I just had a few bonehead moves today,” Mickelson said after his round. “I wasn’t really having my best day focus-wise.”

The incident comes three weeks after Mickelson hit a moving ball during the third round of the U.S. Open. Although Mickelson was initially unapologetic for the move, he later said he was embarrassed for how the situation played out.

Following the Greenbrier, Mickelson will head to Gullane for the Scottish Open before vying for his sixth major victory at the 2018 Open Championship at Carnoustie.

Golf Digest Middle East

Launched in 2008, Golf Digest Middle East is the #1 golf magazine in the region, featuring local content and exclusive articles from the world's leading professionals

Facebook Comments

Check Also

An emotional Louis Oosthuizen wins South African Open for the first time

Louis Oosthuizen was already the winner of a historic Open title, but on Sunday he claimed arguably a more meaningful one to the 36-year-old.