Five days, seven matches, one satisfying victory. Sam Burns proved to be the last man standing on Sunday at the final edition of the WGC-Dell Match Play Championship, finishing off a long but rewarding week at Austin Country Club with a convincing 6-and-5 triumph over Cameron Young in Sunday’s championship match.

“It was very exhausting,” said the 26-year-old Louisiana native after grabbing his fifth career PGA Tour title, making an impressive 48 birdies over 119 total holes in Texas.

For that effort, however, Burns gets to enjoy a substantial reward. The last edition of this event at Austin CC is also one of the PGA Tour’s designated events for 2023, which means the overall prize money payout jumped from its previously impressive $12 million to $20 million. Burns grabbed a first-place prize money payout of $3.5 million, up from the $2.1 million Scottie Scheffler earned for his win a year ago. Young claimed $2.2 million for his runner-up effort. Indeed, if you made it to Sunday, you guaranteed yourself a seven-figure pay day.

Win: Sam Burns, $3,500,000
2: Cameron Young, $2,200,000
3: Rory McIlroy, $1,420,000
4: Scottie Scheffler, $1,145,000
Quarter-finalists: $770,000
Mackenzie Hughes
Jason Day
Xander Schauffele
Kurt Kitayama
Round of 16: $365,000
Max Homa
Patrick Cantlay
Matt Kuchar
JT Poston
JJ Spaun
Lucas Herbert
Andrew Putnam
Billy Horschel
T-17: 2 points (2-1), $219,909
Rickie Fowler
Brian Harman
Cam Davis
Ryan Fox
Si Woo Kim
Tony FInay
Adrian Meronk
Taylor Montgomery
Russell Henley
Corey Conners
Sungjae Im
T-28: 1.5 points (1-1-1), $166,000
Davis Riley
Keegan Bradley
Collin Morikawa
T-31: 1 point (1-2-0), $113,761
Tom Kim
Jon Rahm
Scott Stallings
Nick Taylor
Hideki Matsuyama
Kevin Kisner
Justin Suh
Aaron Wise
Harris English
Viktor Hovland
Victor Perez
Matt Fitzpatrick
Min Wo Lee
Sahith Theegala
Jordan Spieth
Shane Lowry
Seamus Power
Adam Scott
Adam Hadwin
Ben Griffin
Davis Thompson
T-52: .5 points (0-2-1), $74,857
Alex Noren
Keith Mitchell
Denny McCarthy
Chris Kirk
Adam Svensson
Tommy Fleetwood
Maverick McNealy
T-59: 0 points (0-3-0), $67,500
KH Lee
Tom Hoge
Will Zalatoris
Christiaan Bezuidenhout
Tyrrell Hatton
Sepp Straka