Tom Kim will be absent from his Wyndham Championship defence. Dylan Buell

Well, it’s here. Somehow. The PGA Tour regular season will end this week, and many of the best players in the game — looking at you, Justin Thomas — are hoping that they can sneak into the FedEx Cup Playoffs.

The Wyndham Championship in Greensboro, North Carolina, will be the site of all the late-season drama as only the top 70 tour pros on the FedEx Cup points list at week’s end will make it to the FedEx St Jude Championship in Memphis, Tennessee and the start of the Playoffs. On the bubble this year are the aforementioned JT, Shane Lowry, Adam Scott and Akshay Bhatia.

Last year’s defending champ, Tom Kim, will not be teeing off at Sedgefield Country Club as the already-into-the-playoffs pro is nursing an injury. Kimwithdrew due to a Grade 1 tear in his right ankle that he suffered at the Open Championship and said that he is “very gutted” to not have a chance to repeat.

Major champions Hideki Matsuyama, Lowry and Gary Woodland will be in the field this week, as will both Ryder Cup captains Luke Donald and Zach Johnson.

The winner will receive 500 FedEx Cup points and a $1.368 million share of the $7.6 million purse.

Tee times (all times EDT)


First tee
6.50am Troy Merritt, Ryan Moore, Brandon Wu
7.01am Michael Kim, Harry Higgs, Stephan Jaeger
7.12am Chesson Hadley, Tommy Gainey, Eric Cole
7.23am Chez Reavie, Jim Herman, Brendon Todd
7.34am Nico Echavarria, Trey Mullinax, Brian Gay
7.45am Matt Wallace, Chad Ramey, Robert Streb
7.56am Davis Riley, Brandt Snedeker, Scott Stallings
8.07am Jimmy Walker, Peter Malnati, Sam Ryder
8.18am Doug Ghim, Kramer Hickok, David Lipsky
8.29am Ryan Palmer, Max McGreevy, Tyson Alexander
8.40am Rory Sabbatini, Cameron Percy, Hank Lebioda
8.51am Austin Cook, Charley Hoffman, MJ Daffue
9.02am Zecheng Dou, Augusto Núñez, Jon Mayer
12.05pm Danny Willett, Nick Watney, Mark Hubbard
12.16pm Robby Shelton, Justin Suh, Sam Stevens
12.27pm Austin Eckroat, Ben Griffin, Carson Young
12.38pm Chris Kirk, Harris English, Zach Johnson
12.49pm Si Woo Kim, JT Poston, Webb Simpson
1pm Russell Henley, Hideki Matsuyama, Cam Davis
1.11pm Vincent Norrman, Luke Donald, Alex Noren
1.22pm Kevin Tway, Zac Blair, Justin Lower
1.33pm Ben Martin, Jonathan Byrd, Denny McCarthy
1.44pm Adam Schenk, Taylor Pendrith, SH Kim
1.55pm Ryan Armour, Patrick Rodgers, Byeong Hun An
2.06pm Scott Harrington, Trevor Cone, Brandon Matthews
2.17pm Matti Schmid, Brent Grant, Peter Kuest

10th tee
6.50am Adam Long, Harry Hall, Harrison Endycott
7.01am Jason Dufner, Russell Knox, Kevin Yu
7.12am Aaron Baddeley, David Lingmerth, Dylan Wu
7.23am Akshay Bhatia, Sam Burns, Stewart Cink
7.34am Billy Horschel, Gary Woodland, Kevin Streelman
7.45am Justin Thomas, Adam Scott, Shane Lowry
7.56am Taylor Moore, Mackenzie Hughes, Joel Dahmen
8.07am Nick Hardy, KH Lee, JJ Spaun
8.18am Beau Hossler, Thomas Detry, Callum Tarren
8.29am Nate Lashley, Ben Taylor, Davis Thompson
8.40am CT Pan, Brice Garnett, Matthias Schwab
8.51am Tano Goya, Nicolai Hojgaard, Ryan Gerard
9.02am Ludvig Aberg, Carl Yuan, Sam Bennett
12.05pm Doc Redman, Austin Smotherman, Paul Haley II
12.16pm Scott Piercy, James Hahn, Andrew Novak
12.27pm Patton Kizzire, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Greyson Sigg
12.38pm Cameron Champ, Martin Laird, Matt Kuchar
12.49pm Adam Svensson, Ryan Brehm, Lucas Glover
1pm Garrick Higgo, Richy Werenski, Andrew Landry
1.11pm Sungjae Im, Erik van Rooyen, Tyler Duncan
1.22pm Dylan Frittelli, Henrik Norlander, Aaron Rai
1.33pm Andrew Putn, Wesley Bryan, Matt NeSmith
1.44pm Kelly Kraft, Alex Smalley, Will Gordon
1.55pm Adam Hadwin, Brian Stuard, Kyle Reifers
2.06pm Michael Gligic, Nicholas Lindheim, Trevor Werbylo
2.17pm Kevin Roy, Kyle Westmoreland, Joey Lane